Swimming with Turtles

Swimming with Turtles by webmink
Swimming with Turtles, a photo by webmink on Flickr.

Now I don’t want to give the impression that every conference I attend is like a holiday. It’s not. Usually each day is full of event-related activity, and it might as well be held in an airport hotel in Detroit for all the glamour that’s available.

But just sometimes, there’s a bit of magic. I attended a standards meeting at a hotel in Hawai’i and got the chance one afternoon to practice snorkelling for an hour in the lagoon near the hotel. To my amazement, I was joined by a huge turtle, who swam nearby long enough for me to capture the experience with the digital camera I had with me.

Now I’ve shared this no-one will ever believe my speaking engagements are work. But honestly, most events don’t have gems like this. I hope another one will, though!

Tags: ,

About Simon Phipps

Grizzled geek with eclectic tastes. Fanatical about freedoms, manic about music, radical regarding religion, particular about politics.
