Archive | April 9, 2012

Unexpected Jellyfish

Jellyfish by webmink
Jellyfish, a photo by webmink on Flickr.

It’s always worth keeping your eyes open even at the most over-subscribed tourist attraction. Walking among crowds near Cannery Row in Monterey, California, I noticed something in the water nearby. I zoomed in with my camera and discovered it was a huge jellyfish floating along on the surface.

I’m not a huge fan of them, but this one was tremendous. The picture is grainy because I still had to crop it out of a large expanse of nothing, but even so it’s one of my favourite shots from 2004.

Mount Shasta

I have spent many happy weekends around Mount Shasta in northern California. Locally, it is a beautiful, verdant and sparkling part of this amazing state.

From the air, it reminds me of Mount Fuji, and indeed for many Californians it holds a similar spiritual power. The cone of snow here was still present in mid-July and seems to float supernaturally in the clouds.

Liberty, Discounted

Liberty With A CFL by webmink
Liberty With A CFL, a photo by webmink on Flickr.

A pub in Liverpool just round the corner from Lime Street station has this miniature of the Statue of Liberty above the entrance. As if the message about liberty being reduced by compromise and economy, the torch has been replaced by a low-energy light bulb.

